Menu
National Operatic & Dramatic Association
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Dickens meets Gilbert & Sullivan

Date

17th November 2017

Society

West Wirral Musical Society

Venue

Westbourne Hall

Type of Production

G&S

Director

Barry Prescott

Musical Director

Michael Hoyland

Report

Author: Budge Grounsell

Dickens meets Gilbert and Sullivan.West Wirral Musical Society.17th November 2017

Barry Prescott who directed and was the author of the piece has a knack of taking traditional G&S and adapting it; in this instance utilising the original music with new words to fit in with the Christmas Carol story. As Director and Author he succeeded on both counts.

Fans of Gilbert and Sullivan would have recognised songs from right across the board of the Savoy Operas sung with considerable skill by the principle players and the ensemble; a tribute to Michael Hoyland the Musical Director.

The cast spent most of the performance on stage, making simple effective changes to costume and position which resulted in the pace of the action being maintained. The Ghost transformation was particularly clever.

Many of the cast “doubled” up and virtually everyone enacted a different character at some stage in the plot. Whilst this society has many mature members their experience and talents shine through

and is reflected in the way their younger counterparts play their role.

 

All were fine and with two exceptions I will not mention specific names. Robert Minjoot who when already playing 2 parts adopted a third when the person playing “Middle aged Scrooge” had to drop out; nevertheless he carried off all three roles successfully. Bob Chapman played Scrooge calling for much singing and Dialogue all of which offered this talented performer a chance to shine, which he did.

The audience reaction would have told you what a great nights entertainment this was and congratulations are due to everyone concerned whether on stage or part of the back stage production team. Thank you…... Budge